Smelly Smiley Stinky Dinkies


Copyright 1993 Reyes, Mallare, Ubaldo, Villa

This album was independently produced by Manila based Chain Gang in 1993. The band, Naomi Villa on vocals, Dorky Mallare on drums, Mae Reyes on guitars, and Aye Ubaldo on bass, decided to do it themselves when they found the local major recording companies not too friendly with bands. The album contains 12 songs, with most of the songs having received airplay in Manila's rock and alternative stations. What does the album title mean? Ask the band members personally for a straight answer.

A few copies of this album, which was remixed and released again in 1995, are still available. Please email or page the band for ordering information.

Some quotes from reviews, articles, whatever:

"When it comes to song writing, Chain Gang could wipe the floor with most of the bands - male or female - playing the club circuit today. Their songs have substance, humor, and a 90's sensibility."

- Zafra, Jessica, "Woe+Man=Woman" Twisted, Today.

"Chain Gang has a style of their own and they don't come across sounding like anything of today's pop, grunge, hip hop or neo-ethnic sounds...The whole listening experience is just as warm and delicious as eating freshly baked cookies...This one's good..."

- Tinding Balasubas, Pinoy Rock and Rhythm.

"Hay naku! Pa-practice na naman kayo!"

- Mae's mom

"The hit track, the ultimate 'Huh?'  inducer, 'Tuesday of My Being Sick', is a classic of languid lassitude and just gets better from there...Combining such simply beautiful rhythms...and Naomi's creamy, suavely, sensous vocal pinning, weary yelps and utterances, Chain Gang assaults the ear and the ass, lulling and grooving..."

- Minus One Music Magazine.

"Gagabihin ka na naman!"

- Dorky's mom

"In Smelly Smiley Stinky Dinkies, we hear finely woven songs that groove and move without being too harsh or too wimpy...Check out You Creature's droning bass line and slick chorus, Rinse and Cycle's emotional uproar, and other songs like Don't You Walk Away, Isle of the Sun, Bitter Pill, What's Ahead, and Full Moon Down..."

- Gadjo Sevilla, Record Reviews, The Philippine Star.

"I have heard of the band called 'Chain Gang'; they released an independent album called 'Smelly Smiley Stinky Dinkies', they are one of the great bands I know who are not signed up with any major labels..."

- taken off the Philmusic newsgroup

- "This all-girl Filipino group was aired during the early broadcasting year of The World Radio L.A. 105 in the Philippines...The group is worth listening to, actually they're great...."

- taken off the Philmusic newsgroup

Tracks on the album:

Isle of the Sun, Tuesday of My Being Sick, Curses, Dog's Life, What's Ahead, Rinse and Cycle

You Creature, Don't You Walk Away, Full Moon Down, If I Had Been There, Bitter Pill, Baby Talk